# Open News - Taranaki Open Fours

Friday, January 21, 2022

www.taranakibowls.co.nz www.facebook.com/taranakibowls/

### Coombe makes it six in a row to advance

Mairangi Bay's Ian Coombe is a survivor. The hard-working administrator from North Harbour, and a loyal Open participant, has made it through to post section once again. The chances of that happening looked slim when play concluded on Monday after Coombe's team of John Valentine, Brian Rogers and Kevin Cameron had suffered two losses.

But Coombe's crew has character. Two wins on Tuesday were supported by a further two on Wednesday. Then Coombe, who has been as far as the quarterfinals in prior years, completed the terrific turnaround with two more victories on Thursday to ensure their place in the last 38 teams — that being the number of qualifiers.

His side beat Brian Osmond (Frankton Junction) 24-17 and then Nathan Arlidge (Mt Maunganui) 24-8. Arlidge had already qualified when he ended the hopes of Tony Hewitt (Upper Hutt) 30-14 in the morning game.

In the same section, Craig De Faria (West End) beat Dan Delany (Ellerslie) 16-3 in a game that last just 14 ends.

Sections six and nine turned into the two remarkable ones of the competition.

Heading into the last round there were no six winners in group six. But by then it was apparent that one must come, with two teams, Steve Liddington (Hillcrest) and Jeremy Brosnan (Takapuna), meeting.

In a titanic struggle, Brosnan got the nod 26-25. Brosnan led 19-11 after 15 ends, but at the commencement of the last head, Liddington led by three. Brosnan got the three required to tie the match up, and then took the extra end. It was a cruel end for Liddington, after opening with five wins, his team lost the last three to bow out.

Mike Bradshaw (Royal Oak) and Ross Thorn (Naenae) — after falling 24-23 to Gavin

Crow (Paritutu) in the morning — both advanced with a degree of comfort in the last round.

Then there was a fourth qualifier when John Carter (Hutt) drove the jack into the ditch on the last end to claim a 23-21 win over Bernie Martelletti (Te Puke).

But there was no rush on the qualification pen in the hand of Open recorder Patty Symes in section nine.

After Peter Belliss (Aramoho) had qualified on Wednesday, there were no further additions yesterday.

In the morning game, Belliss inflicted the third defeat on Bart Robertson (New Plymouth) 17-16. Belliss then eliminated Ewan Hope (Rewa), who had dropped the morning game to Barry Johnstone (Katikati).

Robertson in turn denied Terry Osment (Johnsonville) in the afternoon. That left only Belliss. The Wanganui great in fact was the only team to play and win all eight games.

Elsewhere, there were a number of close encounters. Andrew Bowden (Parklands) and Wayne Hart (Hawera Park) both sneaked through in the last round by just one point.

In the clash of two other five winners, it was Trevor Reader's Whangarei team that triumphed over the 2020 champion Scott Roberts (Tower) 29-24.

Pat Walklin's Oakura team was left to rue dropping a seven on the penultimate end in its eighth round, eventually going down on an extra end to Aiden Takarua (Pt Chevalier).

There was also frustration for Allan Child (Upper Hutt) after a 24-23 loss in the last round left his side stranded on five wins.

David Hood (Whangarei) narrowly missed out on his sixth win in the morning, losing 23-20 to Gary Lawson (Stokes Valley). But Hood did the business in the afternoon, getting home 31-20 over Bill Johnston (Fitzroy).

Oh, yes, six out of eight remains a tough task!

## Classic clashes on the cards in post section

A number of classic clashes are on the cards following around his father, Marty, in the Capwhen the fours post section gets underway at ital when Symes was dominating proceedings Paritutu this morning.

ley) and Brian Little (Palmerston North) will pairs title from 2020. play their round two game at 9am. Hope has a Defending Island. In addition to his 2016 Open win, he now becomes much steeper. skipped a four to the semifinals of the Domin- The winner of that game then will meet the ion last year.

Section two, on the back Paritutu green, is sus John Garrud (West End) match. even more mouth-watering.

mond Martin (Victoria). Martin was just a boy two.

in that centre. Now he is an accomplished skip In the first section, Caleb Hope (Stokes Val- in his own right — including the Dominion

champion big career in front of him while Little is one of (Tauranga) tackles Sanjhe Prasad (Riverside). the most consistent fours skips in the North Both sides are won six straight but the road

victor of the Gary Lawson (Stokes Valley) ver-

By the end of play tonight, 14 teams will re-Maurice Symes (Renwick) clashes with Ray- main — six from section one and eight from

#### Fours post section and pairs section play for Friday

Post section draw for the 117h Taranaki men's Section play draw for the New Plymouth Club Open Open fours on January 21:

Section 1, at Paritutu A:

Round 1 (9am start — 2 rounds): Kevin Coombe (Aramoho) v Ross Thorn (Naenae), Aiden Takarua (Pt Chevalier) v Russell Hardy (Tower). Round 2 (report 12.30pm — 1 round): Dan Delany (Ellerslie) v Mark Anderson (Tower), Shane O'Hara (Mercury Bay) v Paul Hassall (Tawa), Andrew Bowden (Parklands) v Russell Terrey (Aramoho). T Rayner (Tawa), P Christensen (Waim), D Hopkins (Kia Round 2 (9am start — 2 rounds): Brian Little Toa), P Wagner (Glendowie), (Palmerston North v Caleb Hope (Stokes Valley), Steve Smith (Whangarei) v Adam Collins (Oakura), Jeremy Brosnan (Takapuna) v Kevin Smith (Hinuera), John Carter (Hutt) v Gerry O'Sullivan (Inglewood).

#### Section 2, at Paritutu B:

Round 1 (9am start — 2 rounds): Dan Dickison Section 4, at Vogeltown B: N Daysh (Tauranga South), vid Hood (Whangarei). Round 2 (report 12.30pm - 1 round): Chad Nathan (Birkenhead) v Peter Belliss (Aramohho), Ian Coombe (Mairangi Bay) v Mark Noble (Takaro), Hamish Kape (Paritutu) v Michael Feek (Mt Albert). Round 2 (9am start -1 round only): Nathan Arlidge (Mt Maunganui) v Section 6, at Fitzroy: P Young (Riverhead), D Scott (Victoria).

fours-pairs on January 21 (all starting at 8.45am):

Section 1, at West End 1: K Walsh (J/ville), F Klenner (Ing), G Evans (J/ville), T Stoker (Naenae), S Johnson (Tawa), B Davis (Waim), M Fryer (Kia Toa), D Nightingale (Glendowie), S Prinsloo (Haw Pk), P Shea (Omarunui), R Inglis (Motueka), P Bovey (C)entral Levin), M Hawken (Tower), T Poutu (Waim.

Section 2, at West End 2: N MacGibbon (J/ville), P Howell (Ing), M Baylis (J/ville), M Bridgeland (Naenae), T Englebretch (Balmoral), B Smoothie (Omarunui), K Bishop (Motueka), N Bovey (Paekakariki).

Section 3, at Vogeltown A: M Benton (Takapuna), C Nutt (Waim), J Kearns (Omarunui), B Brunenberg (Naenae), A Rennie (Silverstream), I Barker (Katikati), N Sole (Lepp), G Murfitt (WE), K Gledhill (Pari), R Naera (Opononi), A Paul (Darfield), M Healey (NP).

(Tauranga) v Sanjhe Prasad (Riverside), John Gar- J Sexton (WE), J Leckner (Omarunui), B Miller rud (West End) v Gary Lawson (Stokes Valley), (Naenae), H Andrews (Bannockburn), B Johnstone Wayne Hart (Hawera Park) v Cary Pinker (Katikati), S Taylor (Pari), P Darbyshire (WE), I Morris (Wanganui East), Darren Goodin (Paritutu) v Da- (New Plymouth Club), E Hau (Opononi), D West (Fitz), M Marinovich (NP).

> Section 5, at Oakura: R Sutton (Epsom), D Welby (WE), W Catchpole (Epsom), T Gray (Hillcrest), M Oldfield (Tauranga South), C Horo (Rah), B Hawken (Cambridge Central), A J Walsh (WE), P Radich (Oak), D Motu (Ellerslie), B Dix (Pt Chev), S Rowe (Fitz).

Craig De Faria (West End), Mike Bradshaw (Royal (West End), S Gordon (Riverhead), T Campbell (Far Oak) v Shaun Pennell (Pukekohe Cosmopolitan), North RSA), G Dougherty (Ing), W Te Huki (NP), R Maurice Symes (Renwick) v Raymond Martin Woods (Opun), N Nelson (WE), W Harris (Fitz), R Gadsby (Fitz), D Stachurski (Ing), B Read (Pari).