The Bowls North Harbour Annual Awards were held on Sunday at the Hobsonville Bowling Club.

Mairangi Bay took out some major awards.

Elaine McClintock was awarded Bowls North Harbour Women of the Year.
Elaine also took out the prestigious Supreme Award.
Elaine has had a very rewarding year and she recived her third gold bar now that she has won 20 centre titles, only the second woman player in Bowls North Harbour to reach this number of titles.

Glenda Rountree was awarded Bowls North Harbour 1-5 Women of the Year.

Well done to Elaine and Glenda for these awards and well deserved to both.

Also receiving Gold Stars or Gold Bars were Kerin Roberts (Gold Bar), Theresa Rogers Gold Bar) and Sheryl Wellington (Gold Star).

 Ian Coombe was bestowed with a Bowls North Harbour Life Membership for his contribution to bowls as a player, coach and administrator. In the history of Bowls North Harbour, Ian is just the fifth recipient of Life Membership, with other Life Members including Jean Ashby, Margaret Duke, Michael Foy and Graham Dorreen.

Well-deserved Ian. The citation that was read at the Annual General Meeting highlighted just some of the huge contributions you have made to bowls and to Bowls North Harbour  (behind every man is a supporting partner – thanks Sandra).

Many Mairangi Bay members (too many to mention them all here) were presented with certificates to recognise their success at centre level, showing what a successful season this has been for Mairangi Bay.  In addition to the certificates, club members were presented with several trophies, such as Men’s and Women’s Cadness Cups, Centre Women’s Fours, Women’s COC Fours, Women’s Centre Singles, Mens Centre Singles, Centre Women’s Pairs and Women’s COC Triples.

With all of these awards, and I probably missed some, sorry, the red carpet took a hammering from our champions  Congratulations to all our winners.

What a great year on the greens and a huge year for growth, development and cyclone damage recovery.  Our thanks to all our members who have assisted in this growth and who have helped to build such a strong club.

We look forward to another awesome season in 2024 – 2025.

Report by Alan Daniels.