Our Saturday afternoon haggle is proving to be more and more popular.  And why not when we have such perfect winters weather.  Our midday start means that we have 3 games of 2-4-2 and are back in the clubhouse before the 4pm chill hits the Harcourt’s Community Carpet Green.  The single entry format and mixing the teams up with newer player partnered with more experienced players also adds interest to the afternoon of fun bowls.  When the blind draw is completed there are always some super strong combinations that look like favourites for the prize pool, and yet the great thing about bowls, is that really any combination can win, and often does win.

The sheet is up for the Haggle on Saturday 10 July and is filling fast.  Phone entries are taken on the day up until 11:00 am and the draw is completed at 11:15 am.  If your name is on the sheet you have made a commitment to turn up ready to play at midday.  Late cancellations disrupt the draw causing the organisers no end of drama and are only appropriate if there is a major event that means you are not able to play.  Having a busy morning and deciding at the last minute that you do not wish to play does not constitute a major event. The organisers will do anything they can to include anyone interested in playing and do not need the extras hassle when there are late withdrawals or no shows.

Many thanks for the late inclusion of Ric Lydford for helping out in making up the numbers and to John Smith who agreed to play without a partner.

The winning team this week was the team of Tony Trent and Ian McGovern with 3 Wins, 14 Ends and 31 Points.  Congratulations.  Sorry that there was no photo taken.

2nd – 3W, 14E, 24P – Marie Potter and Michael Jelly
3rd – 3W, 11E, 24P – Steve McGregor and Graeme McGregor
4th – 2W, 17E, 41P – John Smith and John Smith
lucky dip prize to Graham Ward and Bill Lowe

The progress aggregate point table (those win 10 points or more):

21 Steve McGregor
19 Geoff Ladd
18 Jim Centre
18 Graham Ward
17 Russell Parkinson
17 Michael Thomas
16 Peter Orgias
16 Marie Potter
15 Janette Orgias
14 Ian McGovern
14 Stuart Mckay
13 Rick George
12 Michael Cairns-Cowan
12 Roger Potter
11 Faye Kitchen
11 Graeme McGregor
11 David Payne
10 Muy Chhour
10 Wayne Glogoski


points are allocated as:
winner on the day 2 points
runner up on the day 1 point
game won 2 points
game drawn 1 point
1 point for attending

Cash prizes to be awarded on the final day.