Sunday 8th July 20023 saw the running of the Sorrill Cup 1-8 fours at Browns Bay.  It was a horrible day with strong gusty winds and squally showers and not particularly warm.

Many of our players had played at Browns Bay for our Thursday open triples.  Unfortunately the conditions from that Thursday to Sunday were very different making bowling not very easy, down to those weather conditions

Mairangi Bay had four teams entered.
Phill Chisholm, Flora Macdonald, Julie Chhour and David Payne.
Gaye Horne, Allan Langley, Glenda Rountree and Joy Watkinson .
Rick Dixon, Kevin Robertson, Graeme McGregor and Rick George.
Russell Parkinson, Stuart Mackay, Jane Mackay and Rosemary Nicol.

The David Payne team had two wins on the day.
Rick Dixon’s team one win and Gaye Horne’s team also one win.Our most successful team on the day was the Russell Parkinson team with three wins.  They lost their first game to Manly and then won the next three.  Rosemary and Jane led very well from the front which set them up for their wins.

An excellent effort and they are all looking forward to the Stanaway at Manly on the Sunday 6thAugust and the Latimer, back at Browns Bay the following week.

Third on the day with 3 ½ wins was Manly.
Second was Wyn Gray’s Takapuna team with 4 wins.
Winners on the day also with 4 wins was the Orewa team.  Wayne Harris, Chris Searle, Matthew Higginson (in a moonboot) and Kerry Greenhalgh.

We have five teams entered for the Stanaway at Manly on Sunday 6th August.

report by Alan Daniels.