There were 56 entries into the BNH Men’s Centre Singles, sponsored by The Grove Orewa.  From Mairangi Bay the entrants included Wayne Glogoski, Micheal Jelly, Phil Chisholm and David Payne, all playing in different sections at Manly, Takapuna, Sunnybrae and Mairangi Bay.

In section play, Wayne managed one win, David had 3 wins, Phil had 3 wins, Michael had 2 wins, losing out on going through on differential. David and Phil progressed to post section at Birkenhead on Sunday, where Phil ran into an in form Peter Nathan went down in round 1.

David Payne beat Kevin Rainford (Manly) 12 – 10, Brendon Walton (Riverhead)  21 – 18 and in the semi final, Matt Higginson (Orewa) 21 – 17, to progress to the final against 2022 runner up, Brian Wilson (Browns Bay)

The final was marked by Wayne Wrack, a former BNH Board member and the holder of over 50 centre titles.

There was a good sized crowd watching from rink-side and from the excellent viewing platform on the deck at Birkenhead.

The two players swapped points in a very even match with both playing outstanding quality shots.  After 8 ends the score was 5 all, so three ones and a two to each player in the first 8 ends.  Still close after 16 ends, in the race to 21, Dave was in the lead by 2 shots: score 10 – 8.  And then Brian made 5 shots in the next 4 ends to wrestle the lead back, Dave down 11 to 13.  Bam bam bam, Dave gets a 4, and two 3s in the next three ends.  GAME OVER!! 21 to 13 to our BNH Men’s Centre Singles Champion, David Payne.  CONGRATULATIONS !!

David Payne – BNH Mens Centre Singles Champion 2023