Hi Everyone,

Sunday saw the running of the Latimer Cup fours at Browns Bay.  Each team was allowed a maximum of two 1-8 year bowlers the others 1-5 year bowlers.  Again we had four teams competing, more than any other club.

It rained during game one, was a little better for game two but the rain settled in during three and game four was cancelled.

The team of Glyn Taylor, Flora Macdonald, Jim Center and Rosemary Nicol had one win.  They beat Browns Bay in their first game, then had a big lost to Hobsonville (eventual winners) and then had a narrow loss to a strong Manly team.

The team of Rick Dixon, Stuart Mackay, Rick George and Graeme McGregor had three wins out of three.  They beat Phill Chisholm’s team by one point and ended up with a creditable placing, although just out of the money finishing fourth on differential.

The team of Roger Potter, Phill Chisholm, Julie Chhour and Theresa Rogers had two win.  Their loss was to Rick`s team going down by one shot on the last end.  Roger played very well at skip and Julie has now developed the skill of wicking of other bowls to take the shot.  They played much better as a team this time and are now looking forward to the Stanaway.

The team of David Payne, Gaye Horne, Colleen Rice and Michael Thomas also had three wins.  They beat two Manly teams 17-5 and 22-1 and then beat Takapuna, Skye, Shaun, Judi and Irene 13-11.  Michael was showing off his new delivery learnt from the rep coaches .

In fifth place was  Matt Higginson Orewa team.
Fourth was the Ricks,
Third was Milli Nathans Birkenhead team..
Second David Payne’s team.
First  Hanaan’s Hobsonville team.

Two teams in the top four well done.

We now move to the Stanaway Trophy this coming Sunday 14 August at Manly.

We have six teams entered which is another great effort.

Hoping for fine weather on Sunday and good bowls to all those players.

Alan Daniels
Junior Convenor
P (09) 479 1489      M 027 290 0127