Hi Everyone,
Friday 29 July was relatively fine but there were strong gusty winds.

For Women Winter Cup, it was finals day at Manly and for the Men it was the last day of qualifying.

Our team of Sheryl Wellington, Gaye Horne, Jeanette Orgias and Theresa Rogers played Takapuna  Forsyth Bar in the semi-final.  They had a very good win 24-19.

Mairangi Bay Kea then played a very experienced Orewa Gals in the final, who had beaten a strong Birkenhead team in the semi 22-14.  Orewa started strong and were 8-0 after three ends. The Kea clawed back and edged ahead at the thirteen end mark.  Back came the Orewa Gals who were 2 in front with one end to play.

In the last end, Orewa won the bonus points and the end points to come out winners 24-16.

This was another excellent effort by our Women who have performed successfully this season.

Men’s Winter Cup Qualifying Results
On the fast Green of Warkworth our three Men`s teams were out to make the top four. Wayne’s team played Leon`s team in the first and had a very good win 28-15 with most of the difference being in bonus points.  They then went on to play Manly, winning 17-16 to get themselves into second place and the finals.

Leon`s team then lost to the home side Warkworth 26-18 who remained unbeaten and qualified in first place.

A Big Thank You to John Lindsay, filling in  again in Wayne’s team (and he was such a pain to the opposition) and also to the 90 year old Graeme Ward and Stuart Mackay for filling in for Leon’s team.

Jim Price’s team also had two losses .  They lost to Warkworth 23-13 in the first and 23-12 to Orewa 2.  Thank you to Geoff Ladd for filling in for Rick Dixon.

At Hobsonville Peter Orgias Sharks team continued on the winning way, winning all three games, being the only unbeaten team there.  Well done to them.

This Friday 5 August is finals day at Hobsonville, starting at 9.30am .

Both our teams, the Sharks and the Stingray’s, have drawn the two Birkenhead teams in the quarter finals.

The MBBC teams are:
The Sharks : Peter Orgias, Ron Horne, Phill Chisholm and Bruce McClintock.
The Stingrays: Wayne Glogoski, Kevin Robertson, John Lindsay and Steve McGregor.
Reserve Tony Trent (who was named originally but has been unable to play due to covid)

Good bowling to these teams.  Spectators are most welcome.

Alan Daniels
P (09) 479 1489      M 027 290 0127